Thank you again for all your help and support!

May 9, 2014

First of all, I would like to thank all of my colleagues, professional organizations, parliamentarians, friends and family members for their support; for not leaving me alone during this lengthy and unfair trial and imprisonment. Especially, I would like to express my gratitude to the Dutch parliamentarian Mr. Omtzigt, Thomas Bruning and Mehmet Ulger of Dutch Journalist Association (NVJ), and friends from Gezi Solidariteit Neaderlands.

Decision of my release by the 20th Heavy Penal Court on Thursday, May 8, 2014 came three months after the changes took place in long-term detention law. This decision was based on the new legislation, within the framework of 5th Judicial Package that reduced the limit of pre-trial detention from 10 years to five years and abolished the Special Courts. Despite this ne legislation, my initial application to benefit from these changes was refused twice even though I had already spent more than 7 years at the time.

I would like to remind everyone that my struggle is not over, yet. There is this life sentence plus an additional punishment of 789 years and seven months; and 1.263.320 TL (about 435.620 Euros) monetary fines. I took my case to the Appeals Court after the November 4th sentencing. I am still waiting for the court date.

I will continue to fight against this “judicial murder” until the end just like the way I sought justice at the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR) for being subjected to torture. The court unanimously found Turkey guilty of inhuman treatment and torture in 2009.

I also took my current case to the ECHR. The court suggested that Turkey seek for an “amicable solution” for my long-term imprisonment. Otherwise, Turkey will be sentenced to 8.000 Euro fines. We are also following this case closely.

I trust and believe that you will continue to support me in my struggle for justice. I am also a Dutch citizen. Therefore, I invite the officials of European Council and European Union to continue with their support of my case. I also hope that the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs will play a more active role in support of its citizen.

Thank you again for all your help and support!

Fusun Erdogan

